Giuliani, Hummel, et al.

A Potpourri of 19th-Century Salon Music on period instruments

Jan Boland, flute
John Dowdall, guitar

Recorded September 1987, at King Chapel, Cornell College, Mt. Vernon, Iowa.

Recording Engineer: Ralph Dopmeyer
Design: Philidor Press, Boston
Cover painting: "Konzertszene" by C. van Beyren, Museum von Blois.
Total playing time: 63:13


  • Giacomo Meyerbeer: Potpourri sur des motifs de l'opéra moderne Les Huguenots (arr. F. W. Arnold)
  • Mauro Giuliani: Gran Duetto Concertante, Op. 52
  • Johann Nepomuk Hummel: Neue Walzer mit Trios, No. 2
  • Charles Nicholson: Roslin Castle
  • François-Joseph Gossec: Tambourin
  • Fernando Sor: Study, Op. 6, No. 11
  • Hummel: Neue Walzer mit Trios, No. 1
  • Giuliani: Grand Duo Concertant, Op. 85
  • Francesco Molino: Nocturne, Op. 38
  • Sor: Study, Op. 35, No. 22
  • Daniel-François-Esprit Auber: Choix d'airs de l'opéra Zanetta (arr. A. Foreit)

About the Performers

The Boland-Dowdall Duo is the foremost flute and guitar duo performing 19-century music on authentic instruments. Their repertoire is formed by a unique collection of works uncovered at the Library of Congress and the New York Public Library.

Jan Dockendorff Boland holds a Doctorate of Musical Arts degree from the University of Iowa and specializes in the performance practices of 18th- and 19th-century music. She is active as both a performer and a teacher on historic flute as well as modern flute.

John Dowdall is active as a performer and teacher. He holds degrees in guitar performance, theory, and musicology, and studied at the Hochschule für Musik in Vienna. He specializes in the performance of chamber music on the 19-century guitar.

Artists    ·    Composers    ·    Catalog Numbers    ·    Upcoming Releases
New Releases    ·    LP List    ·    News about Our Artists    ·    How to Contact Us
How to Order    ·    Our Distributors    ·    About Titanic   ·    Opening Page  


TITANIC is a registered trademark of Sirius Music, Inc. 
TITANIC RECORDS is a trademark of Sirius Music, Inc.

Copyright © 2004 Sirius Music, Inc.
All Rights Reserved