The Organ in Santa Prisca

Taxco, México

Donald Joyce

Recorded November 13 and 14, 1989

Produced by Donald Joyce and Ralph Dopmeyer

Recording Engineer: Ralph Dopmeyer
Design: Philidor Company, Boston
Cover photograph: Arq. Angel Esteva Loyola
Total playing time: 60:13


  • Juan Bautista José Cabanilles
    • Batalla I, "Imperial" de V Tono; Paseos I
    • Paeos I
  • Francisco Correa de Arauxo
    • Discurso de Medio Registro de Dos Baxones de IV Tono
    • Tiento de Medio Registro de Tiple de VI Tono
  • José Jiménez
    • Batalla de VI Tono
  • Antonio de Cabezón
    • Diferencias sobre Las Vacas
  • Sebastián Aguilera de Heredia
    • Obra de VIII Tono Alto: "Ensalada"
    • Tiento de Medio Registro de Tiple de VI Tono
  • Pablo Bruna
    • Tiento de Falsas de II Tono
  • Anonymous
    • Batalha de VI Tom (from MS 964, Braga Portugal)

About the Performer

Donald Joyce studied Iberian organ music in Salamanca with Guy Bovet and Montserrat Torrent, and in Cataluña with José Maria Mas Bonet. In addition to specializing in the organ music of J. S. Bach, which he played in its entirety in 13 recitals in 1985, he was a strong advocate for contemporary organ music. He wrote numerous works for organ, including liturgical pieces.

A prizewinner in international competitions, Joyce performed extensively in Western Europe, Mexico, and South America. He recorded for the BBC, Westdeutscher Rundfunk Köln, and Swiss Radio and Television.

There is a companion disc: The Organ at La Valenciana, Guanajuato, México, Ti-188.

Artists    ·    Composers    ·    Catalog Numbers    ·    Upcoming Releases
New Releases    ·    LP List    ·    News about Our Artists    ·    How to Contact Us
How to Order    ·    Our Distributors    ·    About Titanic   ·    Opening Page  


TITANIC is a registered trademark of Sirius Music, Inc. 
TITANIC RECORDS is a trademark of Sirius Music, Inc.

Copyright © 2004 Sirius Music, Inc.
All Rights Reserved