19th-Century French Art Songs

Margaret O'Keefe, soprano
Richard Schilling, guitar

Recorded October - November 1991 at the New School of Music, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Tonmeister: Charles Shadle
Recording Engineer: Ralph Dopmeyer
Design: The Philidor Company, Boston
Cover art: "Music Lesson" (detail) by Edouard Manet. Museum of Fine Arts, Boston. Used by permission.
Total playing time: 52:07


  • Hector Berlioz: Villanelle (from Les nuits d'été)
  • Charles Gounod
    • Medjé: Chanson arabe
    • Au printemps
    • Le vallon
  • Ambroise Thomas: Le soir
  • César Franck: Lied
  • Léo Delibes
    • Regrets!
    • Chanson espagnole: boléro (Les filles de Cadix)
  • Gabriel Fauré
    • Chanson du pêcheur
    • Au bord de l'eau
    • Lydia
    • Après un rêve
  • Cécile Chaminade
    • Si j'étais jardinier
    • Tu me dirais
  • Gabriel Pierné: Sérénade
  • Reynaldo Hahn: L'heure exquise (from Chansons grises)

About the Performers

Margaret O'Keefe has sung Claudia in Alessandro Scarlatti's opera seria La Caduta de' Decemviri; Pamina in Die Zauberflöte; Mary Warren in Robert Ward's The Crucible; and Suzanna in Le nozze di Figaro. She has performed as soloist with such diverse groups as the National Chorale of New York City, the Monadnock Music Festival of New Hampshire, the Albany Symphony Orchestra, the Handel & Haydn Society, and the North/South Consonance New Music Ensemble of New York City. As an active recitalist, Ms. O'Keefe has appeared at the Boston Athenæum, the Longy School, Brandeis University, Boston College, and the Massachusetts Insititute of Technology.

Richard Schilling is one of Boston's most active guitarists, having appeared as a concert soloist, chamber musician, and solo recitalist. Currently on the music faculties of Boston College and the North Shore Community College, he received a Master's degree from the New England Conservatory of Music under David Leisner. Mr. Schilling directed all guitar studies at the University of Massachusetts in Boston for nearly ten years before devoting more time to his solo career. Equally at home in the standard repertoire as in the contemporary literature, Mr. Schilling has premiered several works written especially for him.

Artists    ·    Composers    ·    Catalog Numbers    ·    Upcoming Releases
New Releases    ·    LP List    ·    News about Our Artists    ·    How to Contact Us
How to Order    ·    Our Distributors    ·    About Titanic   ·    Opening Page  


TITANIC is a registered trademark of Sirius Music, Inc. 
TITANIC RECORDS is a trademark of Sirius Music, Inc.

Copyright © 2004 Sirius Music, Inc.
All Rights Reserved