The Passinge Mesures

Music of William Byrd

James Nicolson, Double Virginal & Organ

Produced and Recorded by Christopher Greenleaf.

Recorded 7 & 9 October 1991, 13 - 15 October 1992, 3 - 6 May 1993, and 19 December 1993; at Hatzfeld / Eder, Germany, and Stonington, Connecticut.

Design: Mary McCarthy, Chelsea
Cover photograph: Benedikt Abt, Frankfurt
Total playing time: 79:00


  • The Woods so Wild, FWVB LXVII
  • Pavana, FWVB CLXV
  • Qui Passe: for my lady nevelle, MLNB 2
  • Pavana Lachrymae, FWVB CXXI
  • The Bells, FWVB LXIX
  • Lord willobies welcome home, MLNB 33
  • Miserere, FWVB CLXXVII
  • Galliard, FWVB CLLXIV
  • A fancie, MLNB 41
  • Monsieurs alman, FWVB LXI
  • Pavana, FWVB CCLIV
  • Galiarda, FWVB CCLV
  • Walsingham, FWVB LXVIII
  • Alman, FWVB CLXIII
  • My ladye nevels grownde, MLNB 1
  • The passinge mesures: the nynthe pavain, MLNB 24
  • The galliarde to the same, MLNB 25

About the Performer

James Nicolson, after attending Harvard College, entered the New England Conservatory of Music where he earned his Bachelor of Music and Master of Music degrees in harpsichord performance as a student of Helen Keaney.

A member of the Conservatory's Collegium Musicum under Daniel Pinkham and a fellow at the Berkshire Music Center at Tanglewood, he has also attended master classes with Igor Kipnis, Mark Kroll, Paul O'Dette, and Peter Sykes. Currently on the faculty of the Longy School of Music and the Powers Music School in Belmont, Massachusetts, Mr. Nicolson has taught at Northeastern University, Smith College, and the New England Conservatory. He has been a soloist at the Rhode Island Bach Festivals and has made numerous solo and ensemble appearences in the Eastern and Midwestern United States.

Artists        Composers        Catalog Numbers        Upcoming Releases
New Releases        LP List        News about Our Artists        How to Contact Us
How to Order        Our Distributors        About Titanic       Opening Page  


TITANIC is a registered trademark of Sirius Music, Inc. 
TITANIC RECORDS is a trademark of Sirius Music, Inc.

Copyright 2004 Sirius Music, Inc.
All Rights Reserved