Lawrence Wolfe, double bass

with Jonathan Feldman, piano

Works of Schubert, Glière, Koussevitsky, Perle, and Druckman

Recorded in 1978 and 1979 at the studios of WGBH, Boston, Massachusetts

Producer: Wesley Horner
Engineer: Perry Carter
Cover: alpha-betsy and Kathleen Stoner
Cover painting: "The Village Wedding" by Jan Steen.
Total playing time: 64:14


  • Franz Schubert: Sonata in A minor ("Arpeggione") / Sound sample (1.3M bytes)
  • Reinhold Glière: Four Pieces
    • Prelude, Opus 32, No. 1
    • Scherzo, Opus 32, No. 2
    • Intermezzo, Opus 9, No. 1
    • Tarantella, Opus 9, No. 2 / Sound sample (700k bytes)
  • Serge Koussevitsky: Three Pieces
    • Chanson Triste, Opus 2
    • Humoresque, Opus 4
    • Valse Miniature, Opus 1, No. 2
  • George Perle: Monody II for Solo Double Bass
  • Jacob Druckman: Valentine for Solo Contrabass

About the Performer

Lawrence Wolfe joined the Boston Symphony Orchestra's bass section in 1970 as the youngest member at that time, and was named assistant principal bass during the 1981-1982 season.

A graduate of the New England Conservatory of Music, Mr Wolfe studied with William Curtis, Leslie Martin, and Gary Karr. He is a faculty member of Boston University, the New England Conservatory, and the Boston Conservatory.

Artists    ·    Composers    ·    Catalog Numbers    ·    Upcoming Releases
New Releases    ·    LP List    ·    News about Our Artists    ·    How to Contact Us
How to Order    ·    Our Distributors    ·    About Titanic   ·    Opening Page  


TITANIC is a registered trademark of Sirius Music, Inc. 
TITANIC RECORDS is a trademark of Sirius Music, Inc.

Copyright © 2004 Sirius Music, Inc.
All Rights Reserved